PhD project

Project title: Nature, Culture, and Activism: an Analysis of Environmental Literature from Iceland and Norway
Advisor: PD Dr. Thomas Fechner-Smarsly
(Institute for German Studies, Department of Scandinavian Studies, University of Bonn, Germany)
Abstract: Does literature contribute to environmental awareness and to the solution of ecological problems? What characterizes an environmental text? Which ethical arguments referring to environmental questions are used in such texts? What is the relationship between these texts and contemporary environmental movements as well as the ecological ideas drawn upon by such movements? And, finally: What is the relation of the local, the national and the global to each other in environmental literature?

In order to answer these questions, I am combining approaches from three disciplines of the environmental humanities. The first is ecocriticism, a subfield of literary and cultural studies which addresses environmental questions. The second is environmental history, which not only researches past environmental conditions and interrelationships between humans and non-human nature, but also the history of ecological ideas and of environmental movements. The third discipline is environmental ethics, which’s theories allow a differentiated analysis of ethical arguments drawn upon in environmental literary texts. Methodologically, I use Hubert Zapf’s model of literature as cultural ecology, according to which literary texts have a triadic structure: They function as a cultural-critical metadiscourse, as an imaginative counterdiscourse and as a reintegrative interdiscourse. I connect this model with a more neutral definition of cultural criticism (Kulturkritik) developed by Georg Bollenbeck. In this way it becomes possible to define more closely the characteristics of environmental literature and to comprehensively take into account the historical and cultural contexts of such literary texts. The contrasting comparison of Icelandic and Norwegian environmental literature shows that perceptions of environmental questions are to a very high degree culturally shaped, and that in particular ideas of national identity have considerable influence on the characteristics of the respective ‘environmental imagination’.

My sources are works by five Icelandic and five Norwegian writers, published between 1970 and 2013. The Icelandic texts are the essay „Hernaðurinn gegn landinu“ („The War Against the Land“, 1970) by Halldór Laxness; the novel Gunnlaðar saga („The Tale of Gunnlöð“, 1986) by Svava Jakobsdóttir; the trilogy Skurðir í rigningu („Trenches in the Rain“, 1996), Sumarið bakvið brekkuna („The Summer Behind the Hill“, 1997) and Birtan á fjöllunum („The Light on the Mountains“, 1999) by Jón Kalman Stefánsson; the non-classifiable book Draumalandið. Sjálfshjálparbók handa hræddri þjóð („Dreamland. A Self-Help Book for a Frightened Nation“, 2006) by Andri Snær Magnason; and the diary novel Jarðnæði („Land Tenure“, 2011) by Oddný Eir Ævarsdóttir.The texts from Norway are Erik Dammann‘s essayistic book Fremtiden i våre hender („The Future in Our Hands“, 1972), Knut Faldbakken‘s two-part novel Uår – Aftenlandet („Bad Years – the Occident“, 1974) and Uår – Sweetwater („Bad Years – Sweetwater“, 1976), Sidsel Mørck‘s documentary novels Stumtjenere („Silent Servant“, 1978) and Ikke til salgs! („Not for Sale!“, 1983), Gert Nygårdshaug‘s novels Mengele Zoo (1989) and Chimera (2011) as well as Jostein Gaarder‘s young-adult novel Anna. En fabel om klodens klima og miljø („Anna. A Fable about the Planet‘s Climate and Environment“, 2013).

Support: This project was supported by the Heinrich-Böll-Foundation through a PhD scholarship .
Status: The PhD thesis was submitted at the University of Bonn in January 2014. The thesis defense took place in April 2014. The thesis was published in October 2014 under the title Umwelt-engagierte Literatur aus Island und Norwegen. Ein interdisziplinärer Beitrag zu den environmental humanities in the series Texte und Untersuchungen zur Germanistik und Skandinavistik.

Further information:

Promotionsprojekt

Projekttitel: Natur, Kultur und Aktivismus: Eine kulturökologische Analyse umwelt-engagierter Literatur aus Island und Norwegen
Betreuer: PD Dr. Thomas Fechner-Smarsly
(Institut für Germanistik, Vergleichende Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)
Abstract: Trägt Literatur zur Schaffung von Umweltbewusstsein und zur Lösung ökologischer Probleme bei? Durch welche inhaltlichen und funktionalen Merkmale zeichnen sich umwelt-engagierte literarische Texte aus? Auf welche umweltethischen Argumente greifen derartige Texte zurück? In welchem Verhältnis stehen sie zu zeitgenössischen Umweltbewegungen und deren ökologischen Ideen? Und schließlich: Welche Bedeutung kommt in solchen Texten den Ebenen des Lokalen, des Nationalen und des Globalen zu?

Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen verwende ich einen Ansatz, der drei Teilgebiete der so genannten environmental humanities miteinander verbindet. Dies ist einerseits ein Bereich der Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften, der sich mit Umweltfragen befasst und für den mittlerweile die Bezeichnung ecocriticism etabliert ist. Hinzu kommt die Umweltgeschichte, die vergangene Umweltbedingungen und Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Mensch und Natur, aber auch die Geschichte natur- und umweltbezogener Ideen sowie die von Umweltbewegungen erforscht. Der dritte Bereich ist die Umweltethik, deren Theorien eine differenzierte Analyse des umweltethischen Argumentationsraums auch literarischer Texte ermöglichen. Methodisch folge ich einem als ‘kulturelle Ökologie’ bezeichneten Modell von Hubert Zapf, dem zufolge literarische Texte auf funktioneller Ebene eine triadische Struktur aufweisen: Sie fungieren als kulturkritischer Metadiskurs, imaginativer Gegendiskurs und als reintegrativer Interdiskurs. Dieses Modell verbinde ich mit einer von Georg Bollenbeck erarbeiteten, inhaltlich neutralen Definition von Kulturkritik. Hiervon ausgehend wird eine nähere Bestimmung der Merkmale umwelt-engagierter Literatur sowie eine umfassende Berücksichtigung des jeweiligen historischen und kulturellen Kontexts derartiger literarischer Texte möglich. Die Kontrastierung isländischer und norwegischer umwelt-engagierter Literatur zeigt dabei, dass die Wahrnehmung von Umweltfragen in hohem Maße kulturell geprägt ist und dass insbesondere Auffassungen nationaler Identität in diesem Zusammenhang große Bedeutung zukommt.

Als Quellen verwende ich Texte von jeweils fünf isländischen und norwegischen Autoren aus der Zeit von 1970 bis zum Jahr 2013. Die isländischen Texte sind Halldór Laxness’ Essay „Hernaðurinn gegn landinu“ („Der Krieg gegen das Land“, 1970), Svava Jakobsdóttirs Roman Gunnlaðar saga („Die Geschichte von Gunnlöð“, 1986), Jón Kalman Stefánssons Romantrilogie Skurðir í rigningu („Gräben im Regen“, 1996), Sumarið bakvið brekkuna („Der Sommer hinter dem Hügel“, 1997) und Birtan á fjöllunum („Das Licht auf den Bergen“, 1999), Andri Snær Magnasons nicht näher kategorisierbares Buch Draumalandið. Sjálfshjálparbók handa hræddri þjóð („Traumland. Ein Selbsthilfebuch für eine verängstigte Nation“, 2006) und Oddný Eir Ævarsdóttirs Tagebuchroman Jarðnæði („Grundbesitz“, 2011). Die Texte aus Norwegen sind Erik Dammanns essayistisches Buch Fremtiden i våre hender („Die Zukunft in unseren Händen“, 1972), Knut Faldbakkens zweiteiliger Roman Uår – Aftenlandet („Unjahre – Das Abendland“, 1974) und Uår – Sweetwater („Unjahre – Sweetwater“, 1976), Sidsel Mørcks Dokumentarromane Stumtjenere („Stummer Diener“, 1978) und Ikke til salgs! („Nicht zu verkaufen!“, 1983), Gert Nygårdshaugs Romane Mengele Zoo (1989) und Chimera („Schimäre“, 2011) sowie Jostein Gaarders Jugendroman Anna. En fabel om klodens klima og miljø („Anna. Eine Fabel über das Klima und die Umwelt des Planeten“, 2013).

Förderung: Das Projekt wurde von der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung mit einem Promotionsstipendium gefördert.
Status: Die Arbeit wurde im Januar 2014 an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Bonn eingereicht und mit der Note ‘sehr gut’ (1,0) bewertet. Die mündliche Prüfung (Rigorosum) fand am 23.04.2014 statt. Die Promotionsleistungen wurden insgesamt mit ‘magna cum laude’ (0,6) bewertet. Die Dissertation wurde im Oktober 2014 unter dem Titel Umwelt-engagierte Literatur aus Island und Norwegen. Ein interdisziplinärer Beitrag zu den environmental humanities in der Reihe Texte und Untersuchungen zur Germanistik und Skandinavistik veröffentlicht.
Weitere Informationen: